IMG_2270

Merry Christmas from Dexter the leaping lemur that masquerades as a fox terrier.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Ready, Set, Done!.”

Welcome to my menagerie. In 1953, British naturalist Gerald Durrell wrote the book The Overloaded Ark. This is what my bedroom has become I feel. I currently have four dogs on my bed, a cat on the floor and two guinea pigs in their cages.

Presently everybody is resting but the minute there is a noise outside or someone turns up at the front door – all hell breaks loose. Two of the dogs I am minding for a few days. My daughter has totally indulged her fox terrier Dexter and he is at me all the time. Presently he is on me trying to help me type. I’m not sure about his editing style though.

Dexter has legs like a spring board and bounds around at the door or me like he’s on a pogo stick. He is the only one (apart from the cat) that can reach the cat bowl – so that goes over regularly. Then it’s a free for all. I’m sure the others put him up to it also as they’ve got dwarf legs and don’t have a hope of reaching the bowl (why I put it there). He insists on being petted over the other dogs and petted continuously – he is the youngest and he believes this is his right. He is a lovely natured dog despite being so demanding and annoying.

So two of the hounds are off back home today and the cat is looking forward to some more bed space and not having his bowl and contents spilled all over the floor. My two are looking forward to having first dibs again on the guinea pig poo that Chocko kicks out of his cage.

I’m looking forward to a rest and some peace and quiet.

Leave a Reply

